President: Chris Smith

Vice President: Lynda Gearheart

Past President: Marty Leonard

Treasurer: Mark Jones, CPA

Secretary – Recording: Michelle Schneider

Secretary – Correspondence: Dagmar Higgins



Tom Armstrong

Dr. Denis Benjamin

George Bristol

Lon Burnam

Linda Christie

Wes Culwell

Lynn Fortenberry

Joe Gearheart

Sally McCoy

Cathy Mueller

Bob O’Kennon

Katie Owens

Elaine Petrus

Bill Richerson

Will Rodgers

John Self

Rick Shepherd


Committee Chairs:

Chair, Special Events/Buffalo Boogie: Katie Owens

Chair, Development: George Bristol/William Rodgers

Chair, Finance: Mark Jones, CPA

Chair, Gift Shop: Sally McCoy

Chair, Governance: Marty Leonard

Chair, Membership: Bill Richerson

Chair, Public Relations: Cathy Mueller

Chair, Programs: Rick Shepherd


Ex Officios:

Executive Director: Laura Wood

FWNC&R Manager:  Rob Denkhaus



Spending time with people who love nature creates priceless experiences; sharing a mission with them generates exceptional satisfaction. Both are benefits of Friends membership. This award-winning organization is a strategic force in keeping the Fort Worth Nature Center & Refuge an exciting and innovative place to visit in our fair city.

To preserve, protect, and conserve in perpetuity the Fort Worth Nature Center & Refuge.

View a gallery of the photos our members have taken!